whats ur bass recording technique??

im trying to record some bass today ,
and i was considering using the line in
or micing my amp…but id prefer to run
straight in and use plug ins
to get the romp im looking for.
Im an unschooled, self taught kinda guy and
im still new to cubase 6 and vst3 plug ins…
so…what would u guys do to get a good bass
sound with the plug ins that come with Artist?
no details needed, but what plug ins would be best
and in what order? …thx …zimmy

Aloha z,

You did not tell us what style of music and
what instrument you are using.

Acoustic bass (classical or jazz)
Slap bass
Rock bass (fingers or pick)
Synth bass
Country bass
Pop bass
etc etc

Depending on the client and the goal, these factors tend to dictate
the specific recording approach.

Perhaps you could list/name some artist bass sounds that you like
and are attempting to achieve.

{‘-’}

in my small studio i have a marshall head hooked up to a 12" speaker wedge monitor ,so for a lemmy type rock bass sound i mic up with a sm57 and crank it up . smoother type music i tend to go direct and mess around with the new cubase 6 amp sim ,although going direct i find the bass can get a bit lumpy, i am a 6 stringer by trade so it`s all a bit hit and miss for me , i do prefer micing up though.

There are various approches based on the style and sound you’re looking for. Without knowing exactly what you want, I can only point you to sources of information and then you decide where to go from there. As examples, I have linked two videos that demonstrate how to record Upright and Electric Bass:

For Upright Bass: recording acoustic bass with steve bailey - YouTube

For Electric: How to record bass guitar - YouTube