When not to use 'Snap to Zero'

I’m fairly new to Cubase Artist. I understand the use of ‘Snap to Zero’, but it seems like something you would want to use all the time although the fact that is has an on-off button suggests that there are times when you would not.

When would you not want to use ‘Snap to Zero’ ?

You mean zero crossing? You don’t want that if you have to allign the part you just cut to the grid or another part. The cut you make at the zero crossing is not exactly where you placed the cut, so the part will be slightly too short or too long, and thus out of sync when you move it to the grid.

Yes, but isn’t the movement caused by the snap at such a microscopic level that it would never be noticed? I thought that was the point, you could use snap to zero crossing because it made such a small adjustment it would not interfere with audible timing.

You wouldn’t notice it generally, but when for instance doing this to live recorded drums, captured from multiple microphones, the zero crossings won’t be identical. The tiny shift in time can cause phase issues between the different recorded signals.

1 Like

I hardly ever use “snap to zero crossing”. Only for scratch track edits. I want to have total control (not to let the software decide what to do) and then use crosfades (not automatic) at every cut point.

One time you can nearly always use it is when you are selecting a portion of audio to then apply effects in place. It can help prevent clicks caused by whatever processing is taking place on the selected audio. No guarantees, but usually helpful. Or you can do a crossfade.

Don’t ever use it when:

1. comping lanes or
  2. editing tracks in a synchronised folder (one where you’ve enabled the [=] button) to e.g. edit a drum kit.
    As you say, you can’t see the difference but it’s there and screws up the above.