where to install VST plugins?

Hi,

I just recently upgraded my PC, got a new hard drive and am about to re-install all my music software and lots of VST insturments/plugins.

In the past I have had some confusion with regard to the path of installing the VST-plugins. My question is: where is the best place to have the VST’s installed? Should I always just use the default-path that’s suggested by the VST plugin-installer?
should all VST’s go into the same folder, being one single folder?
Is there a wrong and right way? or does it even matter where to install the VST files?

I will have some 32 bit and also some 64 bit VST files, do they have to be installed into separate folders?

Would it be better to have just ONE general VST folder for 64bit plugins and another one for 32bit plugins as opposed to having several different plugin folders all over the place?
Does it make a difference at all?
I’m not an expert but I would imagine the computer might run faster if there is only very few VST folders as opposed to a whole bunch of them?

Thanks,
Lars