which surround configuration: 5.0 or 5.1 when was have a subwoofer

Hi,

I had a stereo configuration with a subwoofer. I had my signal going to the subwoofer and the subwoofer was passing the higher frequency to the stereo monitors. Recently, I bought three (3), additional active monitors. So I set up Left, Front Right, Center, Left Surround, Right Surround studio active monitors with a Subwoofer routing to Left-right). I assume my setup is 5.0 and not 5.1.

Should I send a separate signal to the subwoofer or it is fine the way I have it now?

Also, I was wondering if there are sample Cubase/Nuendo projects with surround configuration. I am just getting started and excited to use it.

Any help would be much appreciated.

CS

The question is really what you want to do with your setup.

Bass management is the process of extending the range of speakers. That’s what you’re doing by routing through the subwoofer and having it crossover the signal and send to mains and sub. But you’re only doing it for the front L/R. So doing it that way means that you get a “full range” (at least extended) signal in two of the five channels.

Normally what you’d want to do is think about which channels need to have the range extended with bass management. If you are doing for example film etc then you should really have three full range speakers for the front three channels, and if you don’t have that then the three mains need bass management to ‘fake it’.

Your actual question about sending a separate signal to subwoofer sounds more like the LFE channel. That’s the actual “.1” channel in “5.1”. It’s a separate signal in the mix/output. This is all different from bass management so you should think of those things separately.