Why can't WL remember?

Please see below…

I have set my options to not show an overview but when I open a new file I get an overview. This has been happening for at lease a month. Ideas??? This is NOT the only thing WL seems to forget.

Using WaveLab 13.0.30 and this setting, I don’t get any overview.

That also works for me and has done for as many versions back as when I first decided I preferred the the overview not to show at the dawn of time.

Well I do get the overview even though I have the boxes shown unchecked. FWIW

Still having problems with WL13 remembering settings. I turn some thing on or off and the next time I open WL13 it has gone back to the previous setting.

This is what the AI on Google has to say about it…

Most users on the Steinberg Forums agree that WaveLab 13 (particularly builds 13.0.20 and 13.0.30) suffers from a known bug where specific Master Section configurations, playback processing parameters, or plugin states fail to recall or save correctly upon restarting.

The latest was I turned off “plugin chaining” and when I went back to WL 13 a minute later it was back to the old setting. It is also NOT remembering what songs or montages I just worked on. Something is not right and it is getting worse.

Saying that no one else is having problems is NOT really true…FWIW

AI: “Most users on the Steinberg Forums agree that WaveLab 13…”

This IS THE Steinberg forum. Where are those users who agree?

Sorry, Thomas

Well I hope it never happens to you and you should read the forum some time to see the number of problems other people are having. If you cannot find them I would be happy to list them.:roll_eyes:

Still having problems with the montage in WL 13. Yesterday we opened a montage that I had closed a week ago in perfect shape. Today when we opened it there were moved markers (even though the were supposedly “locked”) and the whole montage was not what it was when I closed it last week. My intern and I spent three hours trying to get the problems solved but as soon as we would correct a problem three other things went bad. At one point WL just closed down while we were watching it. No reason it just closed unfortunately taking all the fixes with it as the Montage was not saved. I have checked my hard drive, reinstalled WL13 three times, run various anti virus programs and still the problems remain. In all my 31 years of using WL I have NEVER had these types of problems. I guess it maybe the “ghost in the machine” type scenario but it is taking up a lot of my time and energy. WL 12 and earlier seem to run just fine. I really would like to get this problem solved and soon. Thanks in advance…

I also got a WL remembering thing.
I have a preset for my master section, which is always the same and which I made into the default one. But when opening WL the plugins in the Playback sections are not always loaded. Then I have to reload my preset again, and everything turns up.
I attached two screenshots: the first is when opening a new session in WL, showing the name of my preset (not all playback plugins are loaded); the second is when reloading this preset (and then all the playback plugins are loaded).
Does this sound familiar?

Thanks, Gert

Yes we are having all sorts of problems with WL13 remembering settings and setups. I keep turning off the cursor trailing and the next time I open WL it is back. The same for showing the overview I turn it off and the next time I open WL it is back. Yesterday at one point the audio file menu started to “strobe” (flash) and the only way we could get it to stop was top downward extend the menu. Something is seriously wrong…

I know I have mentioned this before and I think you said you looked at it (I’m not sure if you meant that you removed it and ran tests on a test bed) but these symptoms are very typical of a failing or faulty video card.

I guess if it were case then WL 9.5, 11, and 12 should also be affected and they are not. It is only WL 13 that I am having problems with. FWIW

How are you opening WL? Are you opening a Project, a Montage or an Audio file?

Please post a screenshot of your Master section settings (the settings you see after clicking the cogwheel icon at top right of the Master section).

It’s when opening an empty new project in WL 13 (I’m on a Mac Studio M1 Ultra).

Screenshots were already posted. This is what I see when opening a new project (first picture); and then when reloaded the saved preset (second picture).

I know! I saw them! But those screenshots don’t give much relevant info. This is why I asked for a screenshot of your Master section settings. Without a detailed description of EXACTLY how you are opening the project in WL it’s difficult to give feedback - there are many different ways to open files in WL!! It’s quite subtle. The following might provide a solution but without further more precise details from you I will not be able to give further advice.

More precision was needed…

  1. if you mean you are starting Wavelab by opening a new empty Project based upon a Project Template you designated as the default project…In File>New>Project>Templates did you right click on your default project and designate this as the default?


    Are you sure that the Playback Processing plug-ins were present in the Master Section at the time you created this default template? As far as I know using the default template at startup is the only way of 100% ensuring that the Playback Processing section will be recalled regardless of what plug-ins were present the last time you used WL.

  2. Did you ensure the following option is enabled?


    The above option ensures that all sections of the Master section are recalled when you load different Projects. But TBH I’m not sure about the precise logic of this. Sometimes it doesn’t seem to work as expected. This seems to remember the last state of the Playback Processing section which is global to all Projects.

  3. If you are simply using Project>Create>Create Empty at startup then WL will open an empty project with the Master section containing the plug-ins which were present the last time you used WL, assuming ‘Restore Last Configuration on Next Start or Project Load’ is enabled.


When WL is set up according to the above directions I see no irregularity here.

Thanks stingray!

Now I see. Well my mastersection settings are exactly the same as yours (as you show in point 2), and I always started a new session like you describe in point 3. It’s a pitty that Playback processing is not included. Suggestion for a next update?

So I tried your point 1, exactly like you describe it, but no success. Just like in my screenshots only the first playback plugin is loaded (in my case Supervision), not the fully saved one (which is saved a default, in a project template, and all playback plugins were loaded when I made it the default template).

Don’t know what else to show; it just looks that I always have to reload my saved mastersection at the start of each new session/project.

If your Master section settings have ‘Restore Last Configuration on Next Start or Project Load’ enabled and you are using method 3, then you would simply do the following:

  1. Load the plug-ins in the playback processing section as required
  2. Leave the plug-ins present in all sections of the Master Section including the Playback Processing section, Save the project and Close Wavelab. Those plug-ins should not change when you restart using method 3.
  3. Open Wavelab using Project>Create>Create Empty at startup (method 3)

This should work. If it doesn’t I have no answer.

In this case, if you are creating a new project by clicking on ‘(Default) Default’ under Project>Create and then clicking on the ‘Create’ button to create the new project at startup… and you still do not see the Playback Processing section populated accordingly, I have nothing further to suggest.

I cannot confirm your issue on PC Win 11. Everything works as expected. Perhaps someone else here will have some suggestions.

Unfortunately this is the case. WL does not recall the full preset. Very frustrating and weird. Let’s hope this will be addressed in a future update.

(FYI: I work on a Mac Studio running Tahoe; and I’m working with WL since the early nineties…).

Just to be clear, in case you are misunderstanding. AFAIK when you create the new empty project using method 3 WL is NOT recalling any preset, as such. With method 3, it is simply instantiating the plug-ins in ALL slots corresponding to how you set them the last time you used WL, assuming ‘Restore Last Configuration on Next Start or Project Load’ is enabled.

Please note. I made a mistake with that. Playback Processing is not an issue when using method 3. All Master section plug-ins are recalled corresponding to the the last time you used WL and including the Playback Processing section, assuming ‘Restore Last Configuration on Next Start or Project Load’ is enabled.

Well I rest my case, because it’s not like that on my side. ‘restore last configuration’ only loads the first of my Playback plugins, not the whole last configuration or the saved preset. So i still have to reload the preset all the time.

If my memory is right, I didn’t have this problem with past versions of WL (I started working in WL from version 2 or 3 long time ago).

Also useful to mention: I’m using three monitors, and my settings on monitor 2 and 3 (for instance: Supervision is always on screen 3; Tonal balance control on screen 2) are also not saved with the template/preset. I always need to move them to the right place every time. So opening a new session always takes some preparation time. I’m used to that, as it seems to be like that. But of course it would be great to have everything automatically set the same all the time.

Maybe something for WL mastermind himself? @PG1 ?