Why most VSTs have stereo output if sources say to mix mono?

I’ve been reading bit about mixing lately and mastering. Almost every source tells to convert your stereo sounds to mono and then mix but run that mono file through stereo bus so you can pan them separately LCR etc. and apply effects.

So why are we then given option even to play our VST instruments in stereo if anyway we “have” to convert them to single mono file?

Shouldn’t they just have a mono sound in the first place? Like Xfer Serum, has lots of stereo spread in the preset sounds. And other synths have too.
I don’t make my own presets yet, so I understand you have more control when you make sounds from scratch.

I am still learning to do better mixing, so far i’ve been using stereo files and very, very little panning. But I am trying to understand why some use mono sounds/files even if our VST instruments output sound out as stereo.

I just feel goes to waste if I play with my stereo synth and convert that stereo sound to single mono file. Yet i’ve read that few people mix in stereo and do not convert any files to mono etc.

I know there is no wrong or right way to mix. As far as I am happy that is the most important part. But I am just trying to figure it out. I mean this is 2018, we have these all high tech DAWs and 64-bit outputs etc. but still some sources say you should convert your stereo output to mono.

I understand the mono compatibility, your mixes have to sound good in mono too.

I am just very confused. Maybe someone wiser can help me out :slight_smile:

I think the article you were reading might be referring to hardware not software. In the software world
These things have been simplified.

For example with hardware synths and drum machines you have L/R outputs. When you record those with hardware you separate L/R to 2 or more mono tracks to make them stereo.