Why people are moving away from Cubase

I work in the video game industry and I’ve noticed that A LOT of people are moving away from Cubase.
There are a couple of reasons for this but I thought I’d give the main ones so Steinberg can (hopefully) fix those things and bring back their users.

We’re talking about sound designers, composers, audio mixers and post prod guys.

Obviously, the post prod guys aren’t working with Cubase because of the lack of Edit Mode (video preview follows when you move or resize an event). They use Pro tools since Nuendo is stupidly expensive and pro tools does this perfectly.
Steiny could easily bring that feature to Cubase or lower Nuendo’s price of 800$ :confused:

Most of the sound designers are now using Reaper because of how easy and fast it is to batch export multiple clips even if they are on the same track. Most of them will often have many sounds in one session and they want to export them all easily while keeping their exact lengh ect. Reaper does that in a breeze.

Composers are also using reaper because of how DSP heavy Cubase got with every new versions. You can easily load twice as much plugins in Reaper with the same setup (we did the test) and every actions seem to be faster and snappier. Reaper rarely crashes even in big sessions so they almost all made the switch.

I’m still a Cubase user at home but I think it’s sad to see how Steinberg seems to ignore those issues/features when it’s just common sense for people in the industry.

Hopefully there is a big re-write of the video code under way following the ditching of QuickTime that should offer the opportunity to deal with many other issues as well; I will be very disappointed if the December release of Cubase (a.k.a. Nuendo beta) doesn’t have a good video engine.