Why use 24bit?

so if CD quality is 16bit why would we want to ever use 24bit? what benefit is there? and wouldn’t you end up dithering twice? or how does it work?

It’s best to start with a higher quality to begin with even if later dropping down to 16bit. I’m no expert in this area by any means, but I do recall reading about reduced noise floor as well as a result of the greater dynamic range. I may be off there though. Another thing I’ve read is that the higher bitrate is favorable when processing audio - effects, EQ, etc.

You wouldn’t dither twice, you never should. You only dither for the final master file. I usually do this when maximizing the volume using Voxengo’s Elephant. 24bit is a good format as it’s excellent quality and the file size is 1.5x 16bit wav. 32bit wav files are twice as large as 16bit wav’s. However, 32bit floating point allow you to go over 0db in your mixer channels without clipping since it has increased headroom.

Again, I’m by no means very knowledgeable on this so maybe someone else can better explain and correct me if I’m wrong here.

Rev.

I researched and found the answer.

If you’re sending your mix to a mastering house, or something like that, then you want to dither to 24bit so that they have higher quality to work with. They would again dither when mixing to 16bit.

But since I’m doing it all myself I just dither to 16bit.

Rev2010 is correct in saying you, or the mastering engineer, should dither just one time at the end of all processing. Whether your project is at 24 or 32bit leave it at that until the file is ready to be burned to a disc.

Dithering introduces a particular kind of noise to ‘smooth’ out the damage done by digital processing, level changes, all sorts of FX, EQ e.t.c.

Mauri.

I’m pretty sure if you save to 24bit you still need to dither b/c of the processing you do.