Windows 10 with fast track and cubase 5

Hi there
I’ve just purchased cubase five and loaded on to a PC with Windows 10, I’m trying to use it with a fast track interface
Cubase is functioning properly however I cannot get it to see my ASIO drivers and recognise the Fast track device

I’m new to cubase, please keep it as simple as you can :woozy_face:

Can anyone help?

Hi @billmckillop,

welcome to the forum! While I suppose your Windows 10 installation is 64-bit (?):
which exact M-Audio Fast Track model are you using?
The first USB one, or the Pro, or the Ultimate?

Sad thing is that all these interfaces are a little bit older, and even within M-Audio’s legacy drivers section they don’t seem to offer any last published driver for download.

Reference:
(M-Audio - Support Knowledge Base - Drivers, Firmware, & Software Updates Search)
https://m-audio.com/support/drivers-search

Even if Windows can usually handle many older interfaces (and even a missing ASIO driver from the original package), and although basic audio may still work well via the legacy WDM audio driver that comes with Windows, a specific ASIO driver by the interface’s manufacturer needs to be installed (mandatory 64-bit). Otherwise you won’t be able to see anything ASIO inside Cubase.
(you may already be well aware of all this)

If (until now) you did use only the Plug & Play legacy driver, you could instead try Steinberg’s Generic Low Latency ASIO driver as a (temporary) replacement within Cubase, just to see if you can connect its inputs and outputs to Windows’ WDM drivers. It has a small config / routing page which is pretty much self explanatory:

(in my example, the interface localization is in German)

Sorry for not being able to be more specific, or for speculating a bit, unless you give me a little more detailed information.