Would 128GB SSD be enough for "Sample Content Libraries"?

Hi, Im a home studio producer and Im not doing monster scores…yet… but after reading some posts I realize that in addition to installing Windows 7 and Cubase 6 on my SSD, it would be to my benefit to obtain another SSD on which to store the VSTi sample content. Not having much experience with such libraries, I would like to know if a 128GB SSD would be enough for this purpose?

Also, if I had to buy just one SSD (in addition to the one I already have for my OS and Programs), would it be best to use it for a) Sample libraries, b) Page file (swap), or c) Project/audio files?

That would depend on how big your “Sample Content Libraries” are.

Most VSTi will have information on required disk space, so you could estimate and allow for a bit of extra for new ones if you were to buy more.

128 GB minus say 20+ GB for the system, you are talking 100 GB (give or take) available to store stuff like that. That is decent storage, however… considering where you would store content of your actual projects (audio recordings, etc. takes up room too), how big of a sample library you may have or build yourself, etc.

Some commercial instruments come with ridiculously huge sample stacks.

Elektrobolt, when you say “128 GB minus say 20+ GB for the system,”… what system are you talking about? I thought when installing the VSTis all the .DLLs would be installed with the rest of the VST instruments on the C: drive, and ONLY the samples would be installed on that secondary 128GB SSD? Unless you are referring to the amount left after the 128GB SSD has been formatted? Oh yeah, thats probably what you mean… right?

I have a 500GB drive that I use for nothing but plugin sample content, and that drive is about 2/3 full.