Wrong number of beats in bar, no idea how to fix

I’m new to Dorico and I am finding the control scheme horrendous.

I’m typing out a 3/4 time score. There are no time score changes in the whole piece. Why does this bar only have 2.5 beats in it and how can I fix it?

I should be able to select a range of notes and “reset bars”. How do I do that?

I have tried copying the notes into new bars and then deleting these, but there is some invisible glyph that seems to be adding an eighth.

Also, why is there a natural in bar 25 and how do I delete it (can’t unclick natural on the side panel?)

First off, welcome to the forum, @badmozart

• What happens if you select and delete the barline between the two eighth notes?
  • What was the time signature before you applied 3/4?
  • Try selecting the F-natural and pressing zero (the Hot-key for “natural”).

You can post the Dorico file here (as soon as your forum permissions allow), which would give us a better idea of how to help.

Have you been to the resource page and worked through First Steps? That should be intuitive when starting a new program.

I get a mutant bar with phantom rests in the playback that don’t appear in the score even after I “delete all rests” from Edit.

It was a blank Solo Piano project that defaults to 4/4, which I changed before typing any notes

Nope, does nothing.

Have you at some point used Edit > Remove Rests?

For the natural, there’s probably an F with an accidental in a previous bar. Set Notation Options > Accidentals to give you the cautionaries you want, and then if need be you can override locally by selecting the relevant note and setting its Accidental property appropriately in the bottom panel.

Welcome to the forum @badmozart

Using the Edit > Remove Rests function essentially just hides rests, it doesn’t remove them from the “time stream” (i.e. the duration represented by those rests still exists between the notes on either side).