XML Import Not Getting Good Results

I just downloaded the latest Dorico demo yesterday and tried importing in a few scores that were exported via Finale & Sibelius via XML export. If I reopen the files in Sibelius or FInale, they look pretty close to the originals (with occasional issues here and there). BUt when trying to open them up using Dorico’s import, they don’t look anything like the original what so ever. In fact, a few files, it didn’t even get the title or headings right. I tried messing around with the import preferences with no luck. I’m a long time professional Finale/Sibelius user, but this is the first time trying out Dorico, so no that familiar with the settings. I just haven’t found yet what the issue may be. Any thoughts would be helpful. Will have to mess around with it a little more when I get a chance. Hopefully the development continues on this program in the future. FInale works like crap on the Mac (for years now), and I don’t have much faith in Avid at this point.

I’ll chime in before Daniel and say that if you want help debugging, you’ll want to attach a sample xml file here for them to toy with.

Yes, except most of the scores are mine or others personal copyrighted material, so I can’t send these files. I guess I could try creating a new generic score file just for testing purposes.

You can also send a zipped version of the score (if it isn’t too long) or a sample to Daniel by e-mail. His e-mail address is d dot spreadbury at steinberg dot de. You should also include a link to this message-thread so he’ll understand what you are concerned about.

Thanks for trying Dorico out.