Yamaha Moxf6 and Cubase LE AI Elements 7

Howdy,

I have recently purchased a Yamaha Moxf6 bundled with the mentioned version of Cubase. I’m having all round difficulties here. I’ve never used Cubase before as a recording platform (infact I’m a total novice in this area).

Essentially, I have connected the keyboard to the computer (Macbook pro) and to my knowledge cubase is recognising the keyboard. When I try to record something though, the keyboard is acting simply as a midi controller for the VST software provided by cubase. The manual that comes with the keyboard is vague at best and I can’t find any specific tutorials (promo vids aside) that are of any help.

I’m no ‘techy’ so please treat me like an idiot. Just want to learn how to do some basic recording and then go from there. Even if you can offer me some direction as to who I could contact for assistance, that would be great…

Kind regards,
Kevin

Yamaha synth has lots of articles on all aspects of this:

If you look through the article titles you’ll find one a page or two in on MIDI recording for the MOXF with Cubase and all the ins, outs and thrus - including why it acts as a controller.

I didn’t link straight to the MIDI article because it’s useful to build an awareness of the existence of the other articles for later. Given most of the Yamaha synth range integrates with Cubase in the same way you can also find useful tips in the Motif XF section on the same website.

Give that a go and feel free to ask more questions.

Thanks Rob,

I’ll do some research, give it a go and let you know how I fare…

Cheers,
Kevin