7 design issues that should be easy to fix in Cubase

Yes, it’s a great DAW functionality-wise, I’ve been using it since 2004 or so, but UI/UX-wise it doesn’t always live up to the “Pro” in its name.
Now I know design is often subjective (like colours and skeuomorphic vs. flat design) but there are some guidelines in (screen) design nonetheless and as someone who has worked in that area (print design, granted), it still makes me cringe when I look at Cubase since 7.
The biggest problem with Cubase is missing consistency in my opinion. There are UI elements from the past 15 years mixed together, but even the newer ones fail in this regard.

Let’s see.

1. Scrollbars.
I counted four different scrollbar designs. 1. mixer, bottom 2. mixer, rack (also in the plugin manager), 3. Arrange window (also really badly aligned!) and 4. Windows from the good old SX days.
Now which one would be easiest to grab with a mouse or a touchpad? Take a guess…

Now here’s what Jakob Nielsen has to say about designing scrollbars (read it, Steinberg!)

TL;DR: best practice, use those the operating system provides. If you use your own, make it look like a toolbar that users know.

2. The Edit-“e”
Cubase users know the slightly slanted lower case “e” since long time as a symbol for “edit”. So why the hell is it an uppercase “E” above the faders in the mixer??? It isn’t even in the insert rack in the same window. It isn’t in the arrangement. Nowhere.
I really don’t get it, this is such a screaming inconsistency, it looks like an amateur’s work.

3. The faders
Also since C7, it has gotten hard to tell the channels apart because of missing optical separation. Each fader is actually nearer to it’s neighbour’s meter than its own.

4. get rid of the ellipsis (…) in the insert/send name slots
Please tell me, which one of Valhalla’s plugins are listed here:

Now let’s look at how C6 handled this:

The ellipsis doesn’t add information, it removes it. Get rid of it.

5. the new green pre/post-fader line