Binaural stereo

Hi, I’m trying to learn a bit more about 3D audio but I feel like a total noob. :smiley:

In theory should it be possible to export a binaural stereo file and then when that’s played it’ll be perceived as 3D when you listen with head phones? Cause that’s not happening…lol.

I’ve followed every setup guide I can find but apart from some volume differences a “normal” stereo export and a “3D” sounds exactly the same.

1 Like

Yes you should be able to do that, in what format are you working? (Atmos or Ambisonics)
We’ll also need more info on what you’re doing exactly (project setup and routing), although the guides out there cover the topic generally well.

-RM

Hi Alex,

this is a long story. One can get close to a solution for him/herself only.

In theory, for HRTF a lot of things about your head are measured and transformed into a format (HRTF, SOFA) that can be used when playing back “binaural” material. It will be a bit closer to reality compared to not using HRTF.

Physically, it is about the difference of arrival times of sound on your left and right ear. It is different if coming from left-top-front or from right-bottom-back. Just a few milli-seconds. Also the shape of you head (cheaks, hair, nose etc.) is influencing this by influencing certain frequency ranges a bit. On top goes, that your ears and brain (!) where trained over your whole life. The combination of physics and psycho-accustics makes each individual able to locate the direction of sound.

To measure HRTF as best as possible, it needs several hours to a coupleof days with expensive equipment in a lab. Cheaper solutions do it with self-made measuring equipment or just with a photo from the side of your head. Am by far not convinced, that the photo approach is any close to reality. To me it is more of a marketing trick.

Such HRTF can be used in certain plugins to fine-tune the listening experience.