[Bug w/ Video Demo] Phasing problem with StereoDelay

This is weird. I have a Crash Cymbal which is being fed into the Stereo Delay as an insert. The Crash is mono. My settings in the Stereo Delay are 1/4 fully left and 1/4 Dotted fully right. When I listen to the mix in mono by clicking the mono button in the Control Room, I get phasing when the two sides clash. This shouldn’t be, should it? I then tried putting the Stereo Delay so both sides are the same delay length (1/4) and there was no phasing. I then tried Waves SuperTap, recreated that Stereo Delay effect and did not get phasing. So does this mean that the Stereo Delay isn’t 100% accurate? Here’s a video to further demonstrate:

Is the stereo delay inserted on a mono channel?

No, it’s on a stereo channel. When listening in stereo it sounds fine as you would expect, but when you switch to mono via the Control Room, there is phasing. I’m thinking it’s the Stereo Delay not being 100% accurate. It’s like the 1/4 Dotted delay is slightly drifting from the 1/4 delay. Not sure if I’m making sense here. Maybe I shoul make a video.

I understand what you are saying… weird!

You know about the small problem with the mono summing in the control room?

Not, I would have thought, that would cause what you’re describing though.

I don’t think it’s that because I tested the same thing with Waves SuperTap without phasing issues. I also did a test in Stereo Delay by setting the left side to 1/4 delay and the right side the same. No issues. It must be the relation between the 1/4 and 1/4 Dotted delay that’s causing the phasing. If I find anything else out I’ll let you know. Thanks for your help.

I uploaded a video so you can better understand what I’m talking about. Don’t put it up too loud because my voice is low compared to the audio coming from Cubase.

Maybe someone can try the same thing and see if they get phasing as well.

Any chance someone can try this to see if they get the same thing?

1. Start a new project