Change playback speed in Dorico 3.5

Hi there,

I’m quite new to Dorico and currently stuck at a completely stupid issue:
How the heck can I change the playback speed in Dorico? It is currently @ 120bmp which is way to fast, but I can’t find the Option to change this …

Any hints?

Regards

Carsten

At the upper right on the top panel, you’ll see a tempo box, “q=120.” Click on the quarter note icon to turn it from blue to grey. Then you can click on the number and drag it up or down.

Alternatively, you can enter a tempo mark using the Tempo popover (Shift-T).

Thanks for the hint - this works.

Just FYI, I tried to do this quite some time ago, but couldn’t figure it out. It looked to me like it should perhaps allow the speed to be varied, but I couldn’t get it to work. I then found a forum post asking for the feature, and was at least glad that I wasn’t the only one wanting it. Then, I stumbled on a video which demonstrated it, and was pleasantly surprised the feature actually DID already exist.
I think the U.I for this could be made more intuitive.

I’ve now found the relevant section of the documentation: https://steinberg.help/dorico_elements/v3/en/dorico/topics/play_mode/play_mode_tempo_mode_changing_t.html

Also, I think the forum thread I had discovered was actually about a slightly different feature request - the ability to easily speed up or slow down playback, in a relative fashion. (i.e, 20% faster, 30% slower, etc etc). So, this feature would presumably honour “follow tempo mode” as well.

I’m very pleased with the existing functionality for now, and am relieved it’s there. I simply had failed to find it in the doco. (I was searching more for “metronome” topics, than “tempo” topics)