Cubase 11 OS cursor disappears when writing in the tracks Notepad

When using the Notepad feature in a track as soon as you start typing and the caret starts blinking the OS cursor (in this case Windows 10) disappears and won’t show back unless the user press ESC on the keyboard or hover the mouse on something else other than Cubase.

The OS cursor (arrow) it is an element that should never disappear especially when is not strictly necessary and most of all when performing one of the most basic computer features: type some text in a box.

Please show the cursor when typing.

Hi,

This is known, very old and already reported issue. Thank you.

1 Like

Hello Martin,

Thank you very much I was not aware of that.
I work as a Tool Programmer in a triple A game studio so I am very sensitive to this kind of issues and I cannot hold myself from reporting them :slight_smile:
Hope it gets fixed at some point!

I hope it won’t keep you from making great music, since it may have been around since the introduction of the Notepad to Cubase as you can see by the following Forum thread from the days of Cubase 8.5 :smiley:

p.s. As a programmer yourself, have you ever encountered bugs, that were known and documented, but just never made the top 100 list for any release? I have some background in software development myself, and I’ve definitely seen those kinds of things for every larger body of software I’ve ever worked on or product managed. I’ve got the funny feeling this bug is one of those. :crazy_face:

Well to be honest I am not surprised at all that there are bugs. I work in large code-bases in C# and C++ every day so I know how much it costs to maintain such stuff (we are talking of proprietary editor and game engine).