Cubase 13 GUI so bad I'm still using v12 although I paid for v13

I would be interested to know how many other Cubase/Nuendo users are still using v12 because they find the new GUI and layout in v13 a step backwards to use. I have been using Cubase for 32 years and find this new GUI the worst change made by Steinberg in all that time.

15 Likes

Still on 12 for the same reason

12 Likes

The updates in C13 caught me offguard, but I got used to it and now I love it!. It seems most of the changes are to preserve screen-estate I think, hence, some elements now look a lot more simple now.

Actually to me it does feel like Cubase 12 has an outdated GUI whenever I reopen it to work in an older project. But that could be subjective.

Generally, I always try to keep an open mind. Things are changing and adapting to new environments keeps the mind fresh.

Iā€™m used to the appearance and layout now, and actually like it. Some of the other improvements have been welcome as well.

But more importantly (for me), Nuendo 13.0.21 is very stable. (I still had to do all the W11 tweaks though). Also, I have better performance in V13 than I did in V12.

I have no reason to use V12 anymore because older projects I needed to work on, work just fine in V13, so it has been deleted from my system.

2 Likes

Honestly, I quite like C13ā€™s UI. Itā€™s clean and functional and speeds things up for me.

8 Likes

Iā€™m fine with the gui and really like the new mixer strip on the left side of the screen. Fits perfectly to my workflow when in arrange mode. Iā€™m struggling more with the fact that Cubase 13 (as well as 12) have an performance issue on my Silicon Macs. I went back to Reaper for audio recording because I want my audio system to be 100% reliable when recording and Cubase 13 Pro spikes even in very simplistic constellations.

2 Likes

Still on 12 for the same reason here as wellā€¦

7 Likes