cubase 5.5.2 still unstable, so why go to 6???

I’ve been using Cubase for more than 20 years, starting with Cubase 1.0 on an Atari ST520. Always been updating my hardware and software along the way.
At the moment using version 5.5.2 but imho, this is the most unreliable version so far. It seems that Steinberg comes up with new versions every once in while with new features but also becomes more and more slow and unstable. As the operating systems became more and more rocksteady, we can not blame this anymore.
Compared with SX3, wish I never upgraded. 5 takes ages to start up, crashes often and takes even longer to close, if it ever closes. Tried other pc’s, so quite sure this is a software issue. Never had so many corrupt projects because of a crash! Not to mention the valueable time lost doing work again because data could not be recovered!
So, can not really convince myself to spend again more money (this grace period of 1 month really is a joke) to upgrade again to something with new flaws and defects with still my good old SX3 available. Even more, 6 forces me to switch to Windows 7 which maybe will not support my old 32bit plugins and instruments.
Progress, at what cost?

Using C6 on Vista Home Basic WTF (and yes, I do use it for a living) and I’m not experiencing any more problems than I had with 5.5.2 and that was very useable for me

strange …
the general consensus so far seem to be that C5.5.2 was reasonably stable and C6>C5.
For me 5.5.2 was rock solid on one old and one new computer, and C6 is maybe even better?
maybe it’s because it’s a newer installation?
too bad won’t work out for you! :frowning:
But I very much doubt it’s the software?

If you can´t convince yourself to upgrade - simply don´t upgrade… Most people here are probably not even interested in knowing why, apart from that it´s obviously the same reasons like in all those other “why upgrade?” posts - gets boring…