Cubase blacklists plugins and takes like 6-7 or 10 minutes to open, stuck on VST 2.x plugin manager

Sooooo annoying. Pro Tools, Logic X, Reaper… Nothing behaves like this, but Cubase is my favorite DAW to work in.

First off, ALL my UAD plugins, Native Instruments, Soundtoys, and many, many other plugins made by reputable companies get blacklisted every time Cubase updates or the time zone changes and they are re-scanned… It’s beyond annoying because I’m a longtime engineer and I have tons of plugins and you have to go through each and every one and slowly reactivate them… None of them cause problems or hang Cubase, I have no idea why they are being blacklisted… ANNOYING! I wish you could shut off this Sentinel nonsense.

2nd problem: I have made absolutely sure Cubase only has ONE search path for plugins on my drive. It’s a single folder. All my plugins have been manually added to this folder location. Every single time I open Cubase, when the program gets to loading “Vst 2.x Plugin Manager” it hangs for an eternity… 7-10 minutes sometimes. Eventually it opens, but seriously… It’s an absurd waste of time and I’ve seen many threads complaining about this elsewhere. When I remove the plugins and place them on the desktop in a different folder, the program opens in a few seconds (I have a 5.0 ghz machine with 32gb of RAM and a m.2 SSD). Why is this happening!!!

I love this program. Once it’s open and everything’s running, it can’t be beaten. Steinberg, please fix this nonsense that makes me think about using Reaper even though I don’t like it nearly as much!!!

A suggestion…
Try separating the folder install location for your VST2 and VST3 plugins. I did that a few years ago and now I never have loading issues.

Regards :sunglasses:

Thanks, I will try that! I’m not quite sure how to identify which ones are vst2 and which ones are vst3 at this point. Maybe I will have to delete them and reinstall them.