Cubase...What Is Wrong With People?

I have been a Pro Tools users for over 20 years. I flirted with Logic for a year or so, but always went back to PT. I’m on Mac, and after being assured Cubase worked fine on Mac, I tried the demo out about a year ago.

After using it a little here and there on VERY simple projects at first (while I worked in PT for paying clients etc), I finally started doing small projects in Cubase completely about 6 months ago. Then gradually used it on larger projects…I have not used PT in all that time, unless I needed to pull up an old session.

I cannot for the life of me figure out why everyone is not using Cubase. This is got to be the most elegant, full featured DAW…at least for what I do (traditional orchestral music, modern pop, country, etc) that I can imagine. Being able to make macros, have Expression Maps, plus look at a gorgeous interface all day…well, it’s the best I’ve worked with. I know hardcore users will have a million gripes or fixes they’d like, but from where I’m sitting, this is one great DAW. Just thought I’d chime in…:wink:

I agree. I have to use ProTools at various stages of my recording process and it drives me nuts. I came to the hasty conclusion years ago that PT was a replacement for the multitracks I once recorded on; and for that it was much more flexible. Lossless bouncing! It’s a stable DAW and has some good features, like importing into templates. But it’s just not creative to me. It doesn’t have the same sense of “anything can happen” that I try to retain in my music. I described it recently as the MS Word of DAWs. Cubase to me is more like Photoshop and Illustrator combined.

hehe well, I don’t think the choice of DAW should be the benchmark for when there is something wrong with people :smiley:

some years ago I was desperate to change DAW from Cubase. I don’t know why? Just like you, I was forced to work on Pro Tools for clients and I hated it.