Deep documentation of SpectraLayers for audio repair?

Can someone point me to deeper documentation and or videos/classes on audio repair with Spectra Layers Pro? I have the manual, but there is not a lot of info. Youtube “tutorials” are scant on details. Is there anything ‘out there’ that ‘goes deep’ on the topic?

3 Likes

How experienced are you using NR software? Advice given to an experienced mastering engineer would be completely different from that given to a complete novice.

I have an old copy of iZotope RX5 and an old copy of Acoustica by Acon Digital with older plugins. SLP was in a Sound Forge Pro bundle that I got more recently. While I have used noise reduction in Audacity going back to 2005/6 and Adobe Audition starting in 2013 when I attended multimedia school, I have not done anything deeper. As is pointed out before, SLP is a forensics level tool. While I can do some basic de-noising techniques, SFP can go further. And yes, I know full time audio engineers but they point out that audio repair/restoration is a different animal from engineering/mastering/recording. It really is a separate discipline hence why they could not really advise me. The audio work I want to do is sort of forensics level and it is a good skill to have I think…

The most experience I have would be when doing audio post for video work in Adobe Audition. For instance, I would record a shop owner who cannot leave his/her business and they have industrial freezers and refrigerators running in the background (this is generally mains hum removal). Then I try to eq/noise reduce. There were some interviews in church rooms where I learned the wonders of ‘deverberate’. Or record interviews in the street and later I try to filter out the city noises. Not extensive experience, but some experience.

I’ll tell ya, an audio engineer who is flummoxed by the topic of NR is not much of an engineer, IMO. He should go into another line of work. :laughing: