Do I need a preamp with the UR44?

I’ve been recording music for about 6 years now as a part-time hobby but I haven’t gotten too far into the technical side of things. I was using a Boss BR-1600 and was pretty happy with the vocal quality for the most part. About a year ago I upgraded to a UR44 and started using Cubase and have found my vocals to be very thin and lame. As a result, I’ve been recording my vocals through the BR-1600 and outputting them into Cubase.

My question is: do I need a preamp for vocals (and bass guitar)? They always seem to sound so lackluster, despite me having spent quite a bit of money on this “upgraded” setup. If a preamp is not needed, what can I do to give my vocals a bit of flavour?

Hi Steig, welcome to the forum. It would be helpful for you to share your system specs, and also what you are using for a Microphone. Some dynamic mics may need to be run with the input quite hot to get decent levels, like the EV RE20 for example.

Weakest links in the chain are often the endpoints, I get good results with my 44.

I mainly use an AT-2020 for recording and I do need the gain on the UR44 to be set pretty hot indeed. I once opened a thread about this as well and the results were all over the place. Some said it to be too loud (?!?) while others like me need to said the gain at least 3/4 open. So I am iclined to think the microphone is the crux here.

Still, as Steinberg advertises with and used the same pre-amps as on more expensive models I expected them to be superb. They’re not bad but not great either. Btw. this is only for vocals as electric guitars are more than enough.

I’m not exactly sure what you mean by specs. I’m running Windows 8.1 and Cubase Elements 8.