Does an opinion matter without experience?

Does an opinion really matter without experience?

• No, an opinion is only in the eye of the beholder, no matter how informed or ill-informed it is.
  • Yes, all opinions matter because they can stimulate debate.

0 voters

Perhaps a philosophical question, but in relation to DAW software, how much does an opinion really matter?

For example I have little experience with “other” DAW softwares bar Cubase but when I speak to people who use different software, I often find they like what they use because they find it easier to work with.

Saying that I guess as Cubase progresses from product cycle to product cycle it can be a steep learning curve for those on older versions but my view on this is that since C7 was first released, on the whole most people in this forum at least appear to be happy bar a few that either:

a) Don’t actually own the software themselves and instead rely on the opinions of others

or

b) Have a workflow for them that is tried and true, yet still want more

If you find yourself harking back to a time when an application worked one way but can’t get used to how it currently works now, maybe you need to try first hand in order to have an informed opinion.

Opinions, like an inviting cavity, everyone has one…

There’s also hearsay, which isn’t a first hand account per say, but passing on what they’ve heard from others with the experience. This could be as valid or invalid as first hand experience. Many people on the forum claim Cubase 7 has been problematic, features have been omitted, “the new mixer sucks” etc.