Dorico 30-Day Free Trial Extension?

To the Staff of Dorico,

Dorico has honestly been amazing, I’ve loved it. However, I am still learning the ropes of the software. Personally, I don’t feel as if 30 days is enough time to learn a notation software (could just be me). I’m trying to decide whether to purchase Dorico or Finale and I think an extension on the Dorico trial would help with this (I will be buying in August). Would this be possible or too out of your way?

Thanks in Advance,
Ian Hook

Also I noticed that Nuendo has a 60 day trial while Dorico does not?

As a user of both programs, especially advising one who is just starting out on a musical career (as I think you have implied), I would advise you to choose Dorico over Finale unless you have a very specific reason to need the kind of control Finale provides of various functions.

Yes, I want to go into Film Score and/or Composition. I’ve been considering Finale due to more control and the fact that some commissioners require use of Finale.

It’s true that Finale is pretty entrenched in the market. That’s changing, though, as MakeMusic continues to brazenly neglect it, getting rid of developers and focusing on other products like SmartMusic.

Honestly, Finale is dying (I’m not glad for that, by the way. I think it’s a crying shame). Its only claim besides established market share is, as you said, “flexibility.” But that claim is wearing increasingly thin.

Are there things Finale can fake that are harder to fake in Dorico? Yes, a handful, but they’re quite small.

I’d suggest posting a list of things here you will need to do that are non-standard or more graphical, and we can tell you honestly how easy these things are to do in Dorico compared to Finale.