Dorico not recognising MIDI input

A couple of years ago I raised my problem about Dorico 2 not recognising my Midisport. Ulf, I and a couple of others scratched our heads, and I nearly lost the will to live:

The problem was not resolved despite much kind help.

I’m a professional musician, not a professional engraver, so I’ve got by using non-midi input, paper and pen, and the occasional visit to the programme whose name must not be spoken - I have v6 and it still works. But I’d much rather use - and recommend - Dorico.

Yesterday I upgraded to Dorico 3.5 AND Cubase 10.5 at the same time, and noticed something that might help solve this problem.

So…

It was suggested that if Cubase could see my MIDI input (it could) Dorico should be able to as well because they use the same Audio engine (but it couldn’t). The conundrum was never resolved.

Yesterday morning, Cubase 10 was running fine - but when I upgraded, Cubase 10.5 could only see my Vienna SL midi input - Midisport was not there.
I opened Cubase 10 to see if there was a difference and there WAS - see attached screenshots.

In a nutshell, if the Direct Music box is unchecked on the MIDI Port setup page, I’m stuffed.
But check it and magically the Midisport appears and it’s all systems go.

I hoped that this would mean I could effect a similar change in Dorico, but I can’t find anywhere to make the necessary change.
Anyone know how to do this? (despite all the confident use of jargon, I’m really a novice at all this, and suspect I’m missing something really obvious)

I use an M-Audio Asio driver for my old but still superb Delta 66 PCI soundcard. I’ve changed to other ASIO drivers but no difference. I’d like to keep using it. (It took me ages to find a motherboard that takes fast processors AND has a PCI slot!)

If Ulf is still there, it would be marvelous to hear from you - I sent you various logs which you kindly looked at.

Best

DrT