EWQLSO Gold & Cubase Artist

Hello everybody,

I’m new to Cubase Artist 6 and I’m using EastWest EWQLSO Gold.
Which is the best way to manage the workflow in order to work easily ?
Which is the best way to deal with articulations (keyswitches, midi channels, elements, other…) ?

Is it best to use instrument tracks (one Play instance by track) or Midi Tracks connected to a VST in the Device Rack ?
(in the last case I guess that I loose the ability to control the individual volumes in the mixer, am I wrong ?)

Thanks for your answers and your kind help.

Hi,

The best way to work with EWQLSO (or similar libraries) in Cubase, in my opinion of course, is by way of Instrument Tracks for each instrument in the orchestra, orginized by family with Track Folders, and triggering articulations via MIDI Channel commands using Expression Maps. Unfortunately, Cubase Artist doesn’t support Expression Maps, but there is another way to achieve the same (though not as elegant). You would have to use the VST Instrument Rack to load each PLAY instance, together with the List Editor to assign each note the corresponding MIDI channel based on the needed articulation.