Export 24/96 to MP3?

I tried rendering a 5.1 surround 24/96 montage to surround MP3 and got half-speed audio. I’m guessing the converter doesn’t like 96kHz, but then I’m not sure if this is a WaveLab thing or an MP3 codec thing. I haven’t found anything definitive saying MP3 encoders require 48k or less. Is it necessary to do an intermediate render to 48k? No dither, I assume?

Any advice is appreciated.

You got a 5.1 MP3? I could only make a 5.1 MP3 that indicates as Stereo in iTunes and VLC, not 5.1. And using 48k only.

However, Wavelab AAC 96K 5.1 seems fine in iTunes and VLC, and indicates multichannel.

But Wavelab FLAC 5.1 “seems” to be Stereo too, not 5.1, according to VLC.

I couldn’t get any of them to loadback in Wavelab using insert Surround File.

What program did you use to check the 5.1 MP3?

I’ve never tried this before, so I’m sure PG will be a lot more help with this than I am. That’s as far as I got. I still wonder why I can’t get 5.1 MP3 or 5.1 FLAC correctly in Wavelab. Seems like it should work.

Instead of using MP3, I suggest using a customized iTunes Plus format. Please read this document:

Then type “afconvert -h” in terminal to study its parameters.

Not at all. It’s stereo. I didn’t even notice the channel count when I first heard it slogging along at half speed. For the record, I checked it in VLC and Windows Media Player. After your post, I verified the (stereo) channel count in Cubase Pro 9.

As it turns out, reducing the resolution does indeed fix the audio speed but still doesn’t produce a surround MP3. I’ve tried a half-dozen configurations of the Fraunhofer and LAME encoders in WaveLab without luck. It’s always stereo (and with the center channel panned hard left, so there’s no thoughtful downmixing at work).