Feelings about Cubase - Leaving?

Hi guys,

I would like to share with you my feelings about Cubase but I would also be pleased to hear your feedback too.

For some time now and despite all it’s qualities, I feel that Cubase might be not a DAW made for me anymore. And this for many reason.
But before this I would just like to clarify that I use Cubase for years now and I make music, mostly EDM and film scoring like, as a hobby, I guess like many. I am not a pro and I don’t work in a Studio.

So, in fact, what is boring me so much with Cubase is, of course, it’s slow (to not say endless) start-up and shutting down time. The worst being the shut down of a project and then the shut down of Cubase it self. So, I know that for some, Cubase runs like a charm and its quite fast at starting/shutting down. But I also know that for many others, the situation is just like mine… and I don’t believe that we can say that the fault is about computer performances as, in comparision, with other DAWs the process if must faster in the same conditions.

Also the constant bugs… I rencently made the experience of the “Invalid project file” issue, which pissed me of quite a lot.

People could arrgue that I don’t know how to use Cubase and that is were my frustration comes from but that’s not what I believe.

More generally, I have that feeling that Cubase is too cumbersome, that it works on the basis of an old system, that is too fragile and that it is not intuitive enough.
The way of adding tracks with all its distinctions, the coloring system, the quantize, the right tools and the routing system, where you can now simply drag and drop things into tracks in other DAWs… The eLicenser which is gone but I still have licenses that I can’t move from the dongle to the virtual eLicenser! The systematic crash at startup one time out of five…