Finale files opening in Dorico directly, without XML export?

Request to the developers:
Now that Finale is being discontinued I’m one of many Finale users that will switch to Dorico.
I’ve been writing in Finale for 25 years and I frequently open old Finale score files to copy parts of my older work into my current work, or adapt older scores to current projects.
At some point in the near future with the advancement of MacOS we won’t be able to open Finale anymore to export XML. I have tens of thousands of Finale files. To preemptively export them all to XML files would take weeks if not months of work.
For a future update of Dorico, can you please consider incorporating a function to directly open Finale files in Dorico ?
Thank you!!!

3 Likes

I think the first thing you should do is to make sure that you have PDFs and XML of all files.

You may be able to automate this somewhat.

I’m sure someone from the team will comment on this; but I really think the two products are so different that it would such as huge undertaking as to grind all other development to a halt.

1 Like

As I wrote in my original post, I have tens of thousands of Finale files that would need to be exported to XML files before we lose the ability to open Finale at all.

I’m no expert, but it looks like bulk export is possible…

https://www.finaleforum.com/viewtopic.php?t=20813

@RichardTownsend is correct:

This ScoringNotes blog post has some additional detail/advice about 3/5 of the way down:

1 Like

So why not try this:

Dolet 7 lets you translate an entire folder of MusicXML files into Finale files, or an entire folder of Finale files into MusicXML files

FWIW, I just looked into this, and even downloaded it, thinking it might be necessary to convert Finale files in batch to MusicXML (then later to Dorico). I noted it is a 32-bit plugin, and only supports through Finale 2014.5, which I do have.