Help working with text styles

I’m new to Dorico. I’m working on a musical theatre production with a fair amount of stage direction and dialogue noted into the score. I’ve defined text styles for each.

I need help speeding up my workflow when entering dialogue. Currently, I click the staff in the spot where I want to place the dialogue, press ‘shift-x’ to invoke the text popover. Then click the style box in the upper left and choose either ‘Dialogue - big’ or ‘Dialogue - small’ in the drop-down menu before I enter my text. Each line of dialogue requires the same process.

Is there a way I can speed this up? At the very least, it would be helpful if the popover retained my last style selected, but it always returns to the default, so I have to reach for my mouse and navigate through a drop-down menu for each new line of dialogue I enter. I can get the job done, but I’d love to have a faster entry method.

Alternately, I thought about the ‘lyric popover’ to facilitate dialogue, but as far as I can see, there is no way to assign lyrics to a rest, enter ‘a space’, or create a carriage return for a second or third line.

Anybody out there handling dialogue in a better way than the way that I’ve described? Any faster workflow tips? Thanks in advance.

Additionally, I’d like to place all my dialogue text ‘below the staff’ to match the placement of my lyrics, but I couldn’t find a way to globally define this behavior in my custom paragraph style. Any help accomplishing this would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Also, as for the ‘stage direction’ system text style, it would ideal if I could define which layouts this text is to appear on, and where in the score this should be placed. Only the vocalists need this text in the parts, and I don’t need it at the top the full score like the rest of the system text. I’d prefer to place this text above the top staff of my vocal section in the score only.