Hey Fredo! Video Conversion Question

Hey Fredo,
I was reading, with great interest, the series of posts you placed on the Nuendo Users group on Facebook, regarding issues with compressed video files and the resulting sync issues. You said that if we can’t get uncompressed files from the Video Editors and, instead, receive MP4 files we should convert them ourselves to Prores format, in order to guarantee the correct sync.

My question is, if you convert the file are you actually restoring it to it’s full value or just opening the compressed file to a larger file with it’s losses still intact? The reason I’m asking is because:

1. I don’t know squat about video editing and feel, as a media composer, I should be better informed about this kind of issue and,
  2. I converted a short MP4 file to a Prores format and the picture looked a lot grainier to me. I was expecting a much sharper image as a result of the conversion (the file went from 199MB to 1.23GB!).
    Consequently, I’ve managed to confuse myself quite a bit! :laughing:

I totally get the sync issue. But am I wrong to expect a sharper picture? Is the larger file now too large for mere PC Video Cards to translate? Do I need a BMD Decklink card and 4K Monitor to get the full effect?

Your assumptions are wrong, but I can’t explain right now so hand on till tomorrow and I can explain.
(Excuse my take over @Fredo :blush:

You are far more knowledgeable than me, so I don’t mind at all.

Fredo

1 Like

I’ll try to keep it as simple as possible, but feel free to ask for more details if you feel it’s not enough.
Basically, H264 is far more advanced than any of the codecs we consider “good” for DAW playback. That is why it looks far crisper while keeping the file size considerably small, and its professional name is AVC (Advanced Video Coding).