How do I create my own drum loop

Cubase 7 Essentials

I am a retired session musician and have started to use Cubase for making demos. Although I find the facilities in Cubase unbelievable I also find it ridiculously over complicated and that is also speaking as a retired Microsoft Engineer.

All I want to do is create a very simple drum loop and stick it on a track which took me 10 minutes to learn on a drum machine. I wasted an entire day yesterday looking at instructions and videos which seem to be geared towards people who already have a knowledge of Cubase and who want to spend their lives fiddling with sounds rather than creating music.

Does anyone know of an idiots guide to laying down drum tracks in Cubase 7 ?

1 Like

hi, i m new user so i’m learnin thru trial n error, to answer your question
first pick a drum sounds via vst or a drup loop, now u may like some thing in those sounds/ loop, so u can cut / stretch , compress, edit those loops to ur taste and groove that ur aiming for.
to edit open the sample editor it comes up when u click the event. in the editor u have warp, hit points, that can help u slice, stretch , compress, define the grid to help u achieve your task.

check you tube for editing drums n try those things, its little challenging but not impossible, i find d manual not so lucid, try getting on forums of homerecording, gearslutz theres lot of good help there.
honestly people r not helpful here, its foolish for them so queries get dumped.

thanks but as I said, I just want to create my own simple loop with existing drum sounds. I add track > vst instrument and choose groove agent which appears. Brilliant. Fantastic sounds but now what? How do I go from there to creating a loop? There is not a word in the documentation and after a day of searching through hundreds of videos I can’t find a single video that deals with just this.

Groove Agent 4 - Tips & Tricks - The Beat Agent - Part 1 of 2 - YouTube (3:20–>)
??