How to make an expression map from scratch?

Hey all,

I’d be grateful for any pointers… :wink:
Thx, and have a great weekend!

Cheers, Benji

First, study your instrument. Learn it deep: which articulations are you going to use, how is the velocity/expression handled with such and such articulation, etc…
Once this is clear in your mind, building the expression map should be relatively easy.
Create the natural state first, then add the different articulations you might need.
Can you give more precisions about the instrument you are working on?

1 Like

I’m no expert at this, but I would advise starting with a spreadsheet(!) that sets out all your instruments, playback techniques and Keyswitches/CC triggers and program changes.

(@benwiggy did a useful one for the Garritan GPO5 that’s a good template for other VSTs. IIRC it’s on the Dorico resources page?)

1 Like

Well:

I’m trying to map Ample Guitars L, which is a really nice acoustic guitar package.
Here’s my issues:

1. I don’t quite understand the influence of “Direction” or “Attribute” in the Playback Techniques dialog. In Cubase, this layer isn’t there, and you usually put in the keyswitches for Direction or Attribute directly. In Dorico, since you can use articulations either just where they occur or with continuation lines (pedalling etc.), the distinction/necessity isn’t quite clear to me.

2. How do I make sure a certain keyswitch is lifted after it’s duration ended, i.e. after the, let’s say, Palm Muting articulation is no longer required?
    Do I have to put a “Natural” articulation with the “off event” every time? I noticed that sometimes the switch is “sticky” and adds to the natural switch, leading to undesirable results.
    And this happens even though I put my “let ring” and “palm muting” switches in a mutual exclusion group.

These are the most burning questions right now, I’ll think of some more later…

Cheers and thx,
Benji