Hub doesn't Connect issue with Cubase Pro 9.5

Guess this is my first post. I picked up Cubase yesterday (so I’ve had it for less than 24 hours) since Cakewalk SONAR early end-of-life. So Hi!

When I start Cubase 9.5 I was surprised to find that the Hub was always showing Connecting… and would never show any of the content. Some googleing found a bunch of people with this issue but solutions were pretty much non-existent. I write Windows applications for a living though and working this out is (sadly) well within my skill set. It took a bit but I’ve figured out why and can recommend some solutions.

In a nutshell Cubase (via the hubsupport.dll) loads/uses DLLs from the eLicnenser tools directory (for me this was C:\Program Files\eLicenser\Tools) this includes QtNetwork4.dll. The problem is that QtNetwork4.dll imports ssleay32.dll and libeay32.dll DLLs. These DLLs provide the OpenSSL support for apps that want to us encrypted HTTP.

Since the eLicenser Tools directory isn’t in Cubase’s path, the actual DLLs loaded depends on the user’s path (and a lot of other things including some system settings/etc). In my case some application (still not sure who) had installed its versions of ssleay32.dll and libeay32.dll into my Windows\System32 folder. As a result Cubase was actually loading those versions, instead of the versions in the eLicensers Tools dir. Which might have been fine, but the DLLs in my system were/are newer than the version eLicenser installs. And they don’t have the same DLL exports. So the loading throws an ordinal not found exception. Which results in the whole QtNetwork4.dll failing. Which causes the Cubase hub to show the “Connecting…” message and never show any web content.