Imported audio from FL studio, problem

Hello!

I’ve discovered that importing wav files that originated from FL studio results in the parts imported are transposed up 2 semitones in the Cubase project window, since Cubase 12. I mix for clients for a living and this was happening every once in a blue moon and it was driving me crazy trying to figure out why. Now I’ve realised that it happens only when the clients use FL studio and bounced their tracks from there. What can cause this? They are 48k, 44 .1k, 24 bit, 16bit, doesn’t matter. Please note that this isn’t a sample rate thing, I’m talking about the transpose function in the project window info line. The parts by themselves automatically will be transposed upon being dragged into the project. Yes, it’s crazy.

Without knowing for sure it sounds to me as if FL writes meta data into the audio file that Cubase interprets as transpose data.
I wouldn’t know what that data is. It might also be a wrong guess.

It happens every time so there is no way that every user embedded the same pitch information in file meta data but thanks anyway for the response and idea

Bump. This is driving me crazy. How could even a wavefile be able to tell Cubase that it should activate a transpose function on the audio? Can anyone please give me an informed or educated guess? I work every day mixing and many clients use FL, it’s literally the bane of my existence. It’s always 2 semitones up.

Gonna sound silly, but you haven’t got something resting on a midi controller pitch bend wheel or something?

(probably not, but worth checking lol)

Can you get a client you are pally with to upload an audio clip of a single note. Then after checking it is pitching it up for you, upload it here so I can try my end and see if it does it for me too? It will narrow down where the issue lies depending on if it happens to me too, or not.

Sure thing, I will upload some audio here for you

Thanks

1 Like