Inputting lyrics in primer-level piano music

I am working on a set of Hanukkah pieces for a primer-level piano student playing in C-position. As in many primer pieces, the melody often switches between left and right hand mid-phrase. I’m new to Dorico. Despite watching several tutorials and digging through the Dorico forums, I haven’t found a way to input lyrics between staves during Write mode; and moving lyrics during Engrave mode causes other problems (such as colliding extended hyphens with the lyrics attached to other staves – and I need to keep extended hyphens for melisma, so eliminating them entirely isn’t a good option). So, two questions:

1. Is there a way to input lyrics between staves when the melody switches between bass & treble clef? perhaps a way to attach lyrics to the caret/rhythm rather than the melody itself?

2. It may be simpler (and more attractive) to give up on that, and to present the lyrics in poetic form instead. On the Steinberg website and in tutorials, I see that I should be able to create a text frame; but in Engrave mode, I can’t find the “Frames” option at all! I’m not seeing it in any toolbars (though I can find a “format music frames” option), and I’m not seeing it in any drop-down menus. I must be looking in the wrong place, but have no clue where I should be looking. Please help! How do I simply create a block of text?

Just as an initial answer, a short thread here:
Create space between staves to write text (not lyrics!)?
and following on from there:

Shift-X for adding text

Frames, Engrave right panel, Page templates

If you have an example of how you want it to look this would probably help someone answer related to lyrics or using text instead.

Example of primer-level piano piece with lyrics, demonstrating how the melody moves from staff to staff mid-phrase but the lyrics stay between them: