Instrument following Chord track when it shouldn't be.

Hi, Got Trilian on an instrument track with follow chord track switched off in the inspector but Trilian keeps playing even though there is no midi on the track,
this is happening on all other instrument tracks…when follow chord track is switched off in the inspector.

this has never happened before so I’m wondering if it’s something to do with CB11 or if it’s me being stupid…again, cause I’m not that good with the workings of puters or DAW’s…bit thick really :laughing: :unamused:

Hi,

By default, Chord Track’s settings is to “Use Monitor Track” to play the chord. Moreover, by default, any track becomes monitored, when you select it. So once you select any track, it becomes the Monitor Track for the Chord Track.

Mute the Chord Track, if you don’t want to send the data to any track, please.

I just discovered this problem while demoing Cubase 12 Pro.

So “follow chord track” set to off is not really off?

So far I’m only using the chord track to alert me of the chord changes. So muting the chord track works. But what’s the solution when one does want some instruments to follow the chord track?

This is some odd behavior. Is this a known bug?

1 Like

Follow Chord Track means something different than what you are thinking.

It does not mean that the Track plays whatever the Chord Track has on it (that is enabled elsewhere). When you have Follow Chord Track enabled then anything you play or record onto the Track, for example from a MIDI keyboard, the Notes you play will be forced to conform to the Chord Track. So any key you hit will always be in the Chord and/or Key depending on the specific settings.

To have a Track play block chords of whatever is on the Chord Track you need to set that on the Chord Track itself. You can set it to play on one single Track OR on all the Tracks that have the Monitor button Enabled.