Issues writing unisons of the same duration with no overlap

Hello,

First time poster here. So I’m a new music composer and although I’ve owned Dorico for quite some time, I finally decided to try to write a piece from scratch with it. I’m currently trying to input my string quartet and unfortunately, I can’t get past the first beat. I’m trying to write a unison of the same duration without the noteheads overlapping. I tried all the notation options but they seem to all be for unisons with different durations. Is anyway to remedy this? I checked the forum and couldn’t find anything. I’ve included a screenshot from behind the bars of how it’s supposed to look. and screenshot of bar 1 from my score of how it looks right now.

Thanks for any insight or help anyone can give. I’m really excited to start using Dorico full time. This hickup has been a real bummer.

Steve
Screen Shot 2023-05-23 at 11.47.02 AM

Screen Shot 2023-05-23 at 11.50.02 AM
Sorry, bevcause this was a first time post, Steinberg wouldn’t let me upload two images. Here’s from score.

You have to put the lower note in the same voice like the higher note, then you get what you want.
Slice 1

Maybe you have to filter the second voice first, then change to the upper voice (via right click).

Hi Chris,

Thank you so much for your help. I still can’t get it to work. What do you mean by lower note? These are both unisons so there’s two C#s and two Es. Still can’t get it to look correct. Maybe I’m missing something simple? I tried to receate what you wrote. I either get both down or if I flip the stem. It’s the same problem. I’ve include voice colors so it’s more clear. Thank you again.
Screen Shot 2023-05-23 at 12.14.42 PM

Hi Chris,

Ok, I figured it out. Thank you so much. Just out of curiousity, you wouldn’t know of a preference to set that to be standard, would you?

Thanks again!