Ligature in French style

It s possible to have the ligature that do
200973548_3011292339154724_4776763147259823714_n
s not pass through the bars like in french style.

No, at the present time Dorico does not support so-called French beams, but it is something we may well add in a future version of the software.

1 Like

Thank you Daniel,
Pesornally it’s not for me as this practice has been abandoned.
It’s just ideas for future updates.

To me, they look like a bad printing job, or a copy of a copy of a copy, or the toner is running out on your printer. Absolutely useless!

Woodwind players at least are really familiar with this style as it was the house style for Alphonse Leduc (who published Bozza, Ibert, Mule, Lacour, Moyse, Bonneau, Taffanel/Gaubert, etc). Meh. It might be a nice feature for historical purposes, but that’s a practice I’m happy to see abandoned.

50 years ago I was a serious trombone student, so I had many of the french etude books (Leduc). I never remember noticing the 16th note beaming which probably says a lot about its usefulness. My music library is long gone into better hands so I can’t check.

One thing I know for sure, if you mention the etude book by Marcel Bitsch, my reply is “Yes they were”.

1 Like

Just went into my practice room and pulled all the Leduc woodwind etude/pieces I had on the shelf. I currently have 23 of them out plus maybe more in boxes or elsewhere. (My music isn’t super organized.)

The 32nds look particularly odd to me in this style. Here’s a page from a Bozza flute duet:

You can see there are a few instances where the engraver punched the stem too long or too short as well so it’s a bit inconsistent.

3 Likes

Good morning all,
I would be very happy to see this French specificity in Dorico, as was the case in Sibelius, a few years ago.
For several reasons :

• first of all because it is a specific feature of French engraving;
  • because it significantly lightens the score by removing unnecessary black;