Loop playback

Hi, I’m new to Dorico and I’ve just bought Dorico Elements3. Was wondering how can I make looped playback without having to make repeat bar lines on the score? I want to be able to select a few bars and just repeat that few plays in the playback. Is this achievable?

5 Likes

Nope. It’s (relatively) frequently requested but as yet there’s no functionality for looping playback.

2 Likes

hi since you are here, may I know how do I create a single multi-rests bar in Dorico?

You might be able to simulate looping with 1,2, or 4-measure repeat regions.

1 Like

When I practice a piece, I would like the following loop features: (1) loop beginning measure number, loop ending measure number; (2) number of times the piece loops – infinite loop or specific number of loops; (3) set the starting loop metronome speed and ending metronome speed; (4) the ability to increase the metronome speed automatically after each loop by a set increment metronome speed (e.g., 3 bpm) from the starting metronome speed to the ending metronome speed (and/or set a specific number of loops before the metronome speed increments). These features would be very helpful. Thanks.

1 Like

Looping over the selected measures would be rather helpful to my workflow. Hopefully this feature will make its way into Dorico 4!

4 Likes

Hi Pianoleo, just thinking about buying Dorico for percussion training. Having plenty of notation sheets I’d like to bring them to Dorico. But for training it’d be essential to have loop features by just marking some bars and repeat them infinitely. Is that planned for Dorico 4?
Else: From what I saw its a wonderful piece of Software

Welcome to the forum, @jcjwjj.

I’m not privy to the intentions of the development team, and they tend not to announce new functionality until it’s actively being developed. The last official mention I can find is the following, from last July.

100% agree