MIDI Keyboard recommendations

I’m considering acquiring a MIDI keyboard purely to speed up inputting music with Dorico 3 on my Windows 10 PC. As a complete ignoramus on all things MIDI, I’ve no idea where to start. I’ve the space for a 61 or 88 key unit and it would seem sensible to go for a touch/velocity sensitive model, perhaps with a sustain function. In short, something fairly simple, easy to set up and use and available in the UK. Has anyone any recommendations?

It’s all about budget. Also, do you want a MiDI controller only; or one with onboard sounds? The latter is significantly more $$.

I love my Roland RD-2000, but I had to basically sell a kidney. And I’m a pianist. If you want something a little more mid-range, you have a zillion good options.

1 Like

Hello Dan, thanks for the reply. I don’t really need onboard sounds - I’ve sound libraries loaded on my PC which I use. I have a Bosendorfer upright two rooms away, so the MIDI keyboard’s primary use would be note entry. I’m not sure if that’s the same as a MIDI controller (pardon my ignorance).

If you have the budget and space the RD2000 is great, can function as the audio interface, and can map functions to its sliders and knobs. It’s going to be my main piano for twenty years. For something smaller I use Akai, but I’m interested to see what the Behringer with motorised faders is like. Maybe someone knows?

Then check out the Roland A-88. It’s a great MIDI controller with a nice touch and a full keyboard, and not at all pricey for what you get.

Does note entry include playing piano parts live? If it is just for non-realtime entry then (IMVHO) smaller and thinner is better.

Mandryka hello,
Well, the MIDI keyboard is just another kind of MIDI controller… there are many of them like, drum pads, breath controllers, consoles…
Many of the MIDI keyboards include console part with faders and knobs, also panel for DAW Transport control etc…