Multiband Compressor strange behavior (or user error)

Hi all, I’ve been trying to take advantage of the Multiband Compressor in Cubase 6.0. I came from Studio 4.5, so I am new to it. But I am seeing behavior that doesn’t make sense according to my understanding:

1. I get a volume gain in a band even if the compressor in that band is not actually doing anything. For example, say I’ve got the third band for high mids set to a low threshold (e.g. -10db) so that there isn’t any actual effect. As I turn up the threshold, the volume of that band is increasing before the compressor gets to a threshold where any activity it taking place. It’s most evident when soloing that band.
  2. If I turn on auto release, the level of compression as seen on the meters jumps. The Cubase documentation does not describe precisely how it sets release time when auto is check, it only says that it determines what would be “musical”. I don’t see a way to find out what that is, but one could imagine it’s something that would be within the range of the dial. But if you turn auto back off, and sweep the dial, you get no such increase in the compression. I don’t see a logical explanation. Even when the release extends to the next peak, I could see that keeping the level of compression constant, but not increasing by a lot.

As I’m really just learning here, hoping someone can either explain how Multiband Compression is different, or confirm that the behavior is strange.

Thanks,
Early

Nothing is easy in dealing with Multiband compressors - until you figure them out. Read this article from SOS: Multi-band Compression , it should help. Your threshold number is not independent of your ratio setting, remember. Don’t forget the google-way to solve your problems, youtube has videos of a lot of Cubase functions, too.

Thanks, mr.roos for the link to that useful article.