New solution: Continuous pinch to zoom for Cubase on macOS

Hi Guys,

I’m a longtime Cubase user, switched to a Macbook Pro last year and - like many others - immediately missed touchpad support from Cubase on macOS (see: pinch-to-zoom-with-a-touchpad/129419 and pinch-zoom-please-vote/137074). I did some research but didn’t find a satisfactory solution, only an outdated workaround requiring commercial software and producing bad user experience in Cubase (see: how-to-pinch-zoom-in-cubase-8/59411)

As a software developer, I have now taken care of this issue and programmed a small tool. It’s open source, free, and foolproof to use after a very short setup. It works great on my Intel Macbook and I’m now looking for testers with Intel and/or Apple Silicon Macs with a touchpad (both internal and Magic Touchpad are supported). If you belong to this group and also want to smoothly zoom with your trackpad in Cubase, take a look at PinchBar on GitHub:

It provides very smooth continuous zoom to the mouse pointer for all Cubase versions and supports modifiers (cmd and alt) for vertical zoom and waveform zoom. I am currently extending it for other use cases as well, e.g. support for more apps besides Cubase and a general zoom function for macOS with Magic Mice.

I’m looking forward to your reactions and maybe also from Steinberg, whom I suggest to integrate these features into the next macOS version of Cubase (I live near Hamburg and would like to present this project to you in-house).

Kindly,
Lutz Häußler

PS: Maybe somebody could make a short Youtube clip how to install and use PinchBar and link it here. It is pretty simple but I can imaging not every Cubase user is familiar with installation of software from outside the App Store…

7 Likes

please, post away. You’re authorized.

1 Like

thx :+1:

Hello Lutz,

This is great!
Seems to work without issues on my M1 Max MacBook Pro in Native mode.

Thank you so much for your work.

2 Likes