Newbie Audio and USB setup problems. Worked before, suddenly doesn’t!

Hi All

I’m a Cubase newbie (Cubase 12 Pro - Win10 on PC and Win11 on laptop). And I’m getting pretty frustrated with it.

Getting Cubase all set up and working was a lot more difficult than I ever would have expected. For example, having to install a non-Steinberg freeware ASIO driver (ASIO4ALL) in order to get my external synths working via USB. That seemed a bit weird - having the whole system potentially vulnerable to third party freeware - or not being able to use external synths via USB, just doesn’t seem right. Maybe there’s a better solution (please post if so), but until now I’ve had some success with ASIO4ALL.

I say “some” success because I got it all going nicely, for about three weeks and thought I was getting somewhere, then suddenly, two days ago, no audio came through my interface (UR22C). Also, my Korg Kronos X, came up as “Missing Port”. Then my UR22C came up as Missing Port. I never changed anything. Then, even if I started a blank project, I couldn’t get any audio out of my UR22C. I removed all drivers (Korg, YamahaSteinberg, ASIO4ALL), then reinstalled everything one by one, but it still didn’t work properly. Eg under Output Bus, it used to show UR22C L and UR22C R, but now has a list of “Wave000xxxx” bunch of numbers instead. I can get audio out of my UR22C again, but only using SW Instruments or samples within Cubase but I can’t get audio from my synths any more and therefore any projects that used them don’t work anymore. It’s driving me nuts. I want to get on with making music but I’m wasting hours solving ridiculous problems that just seem to keep coming out of nowhere. Maybe it was a Windows update that screwed me this time. Who knows? I just want to fix it and get back to making music.

If anyone has encountered this or similar, please post a “recipe” that I can follow to get back in action.

TIA