Not sure where to start...Uber Noob

Hello, and thanks for taking a peek at this. I’m very new to Cubase, and really modern recording software. So, I’m kind of floundering. Here’s specifically what I’m trying to do. Help in understanding behaviors would be very much appreciated.

My setup, or desired setup looks like this (how I want it to work)

Laptop w/Cubase (and VST’s)
Novation LaunchKey88 as the primary controller
Alesis io2 for audio in only (mic/line)
Yamaha mx49 as hardware synth AND audio output.

About all I’ve managed to do is get things so that the LK88 controls VST properly, and the audio is coming out the mx49, but Cubase doesn’t see the mx49 as a synth, and the io2 just doesn’t do anything. It’s gotta be something in the Studio Setup, but I just don’t know enough about the various behaviors to know what to do.
Maybe I’m trying to do something that can’t be done…

Thanks again for taking a look. :wink:

I don’t know these devices but suspect they each appear as Audio Interfaces. Under normal circumstances only one of them would be available at a time.

Cubase wants to see one and only one Audio Interface at any time. It also wants that interface to have an ASIO driver. So if each of those has it’s own ASIO driver you can select and use one or the other but not both.

However some Audio Interfaces do not have an ASIO driver at all (this is common for built in audio and some ‘consumer’ gear). In these situations you can use the Generic ASIO driver that comes with Cubase (or a popular & similar 3rd party driver, ASIO4ALL). Both of these will let Cubase talk to non-ASIO Audio devices. And they can also be configured to to talk to multiple Audio Devices. So you can use these to talk to both devices at the same time. However this will increase your Audio Latency (i.e. the delay between when a sound hits your mic and then come out of your speakers).

Here’s a post you might find useful