Opening XG MIDI files with Yamaha S-YXG50 VSTi

Hi, I used to have a DB50XG daughterboard and was very fond of listening to XG MIDI files, and I’ve just found the S-YXG50 VSTi, which to my ears sounds exactly the same as the DB50XG (though I don’t expect it can do QS300 emulation), and have been able to open XG MIDI songs in VSTHost, and they play back perfectly on the S-YXG50. Does anybody know how to make this work in Cubase Elements 7? I have downloaded the demo to test this out, as I would love to be able to use the S-YXG50 for writing songs (as well as using other VSTs).
I’ve imported some XG MIDI files into Cubase Elements 7, but when I add the S-YXG50 to one of the tracks, it plays back the piano sound, and presumably the SysEx Data track has to be played into the S-YXG50 first.
I’ve never used Cubase before, can anybody help me out? I think it’s a bit different to getting a MIDI file to play Windows built in soft synth, as of course, I’m using a VSTi version of the S-YXG50.
Just as an aside, I’ve had complex songs with 60 plus voices playing, only take up 0.6% CPU time, on my three year old i7 860! Quite amazing seeing at it’s all done in software.

Check in Preferences under MIDI/MIDI File/Import Options/Destination that it is set to “MIDI Tracks” and that “Auto-dissolve Format 0” is selected, that should load into individual tracks. XG files will have the correct Program Change embedded in each track. Set the output of each track to your VSTi.

Pity you don’t still have the DB50XG … it can be adapted to be an external MIDI expander with circuits like this. It’s also possible to fit into the box of the Terratec DMX 6-Fire, an older PCI soundcard and the built-in synth in the Axon AX 100 is actually on a Waveblaster connector, so it’s just a matter of exchanging it for a DB50XG.

I hadn’t come across the S-YXG50 before, but I’d say it’s pretty old software and I’m assuming it’s only 32-bit, so I wouldn’t care to test its stability on Windows 7 or 8 64-bit.