Playback audio heavily distorted, plz help

My first post here, I beg your apology if I mistakenly offended any rule or anyone.

Here is my problem, I am very new to Cubase. And I have a problem…or two with my audio playback.

:arrow_right: When I do any one of the things below

1. record guitar through my audio interface, my MBox2 Mini
  2. Import a vocaloid master wave track, 16bit, 44100 or 48000Hz
  3. Drag any wave file I have.

Then play back the audio, it is heavily distorted. I don’t know how to describe it, it is like you play an audio at wrong sample rate, and it sounds like you’re playing it with a broken speaker.

I tried to switch my Cubase to any combination with 24 and 16Bits, 44100Hz and 48000Hz. I didn’t make a difference.

All VSTi run smoothly and only the audio tracks are distorded for the above mentioned situation.

This is a problem that 100% occurs in my system, I can’t do anything without solving this problem at all, please save me from this hell.

:arrow_right: The problem below doesn’t occur every time I start my Cubase, and it can be solved if I restart my computer. But I believe the rate of its happening may increase over time.

It is possible that when I start my Cubase,

1. every sound is distorted including VSTi playback
  2. no audio response when I do the playback, or
  3. the audio track volume fader might fill up but no sound was produced when I press the space bar.

Thanks for reading my post, my signature will show was I have and please don’t hesitate if you need more information, thank you very much.

Hello, an wellcome!

Try to increase the Buffer size of the MBox 2 Mini.

If your Buffer size is too low, sometimes, it distorts the sound, sometimes, you can’t here any sound.

Try to optimize the DAW, and your operating system. Sometimes, some background precess can slow down your computer, and Cubase.

Here is an example, sorry I just plug it in and play.
test distort.mp3 (928 KB)