Pre Gain Automation missing

I’d like to use pre-gain in an automation lane but am not able to find it. The default parameter in the automation lane is volume, but I thought that pre-gain option would come up when selecting “more” (having followed Mixdown Online “Gain Automation with Quick Controls”). But it’s not there.

I have enabled Pre in the set-up window.

I’m new to Cubase (I work mostly in Dorico) so am hoping I’ve missed something obvious. Any advice welcome.

Hi, isn’t it available as shown in this screenshot?

εικόνα

No, the others are there but PreGain is missing…(your image is what I was expecting.)

Thanks

If you navigate to “More” isn’t the input filter section available?

εικόνα

Hi,

This is a known issue. The only way is to asign it to any Quick Control, where you can write the automation.

Hi Martin,

Thank you. Am pleased to hear it’s a known issue and not entirely my incompetence! How do I “sign it to any Quick Control”?

Hi,

Sory, it should be assign to a Quick Control. In the Inspector > Quick Contorls, you can choose Input Filter > PreGain.

OK, so in the Inspector I can see and select PreGain in the Quick Controls. I’ve got that. But I still don’t see how to get that pre-gain into my automation lane, which remains as Volume. (And the sub-menu options have not updated to include Pre-Gain). This is what it looks like:

It’s probably an unusual starting point in using Cubase. I mainly use Dorico, but will have some mixing of live recordings of woodwind instruments to do that need some volume adjustments. (Which is why I got Cubase) From what I’ve learnt it seems to be best to do this as pre-gain (before inserts) rather than volume.

Thanks again!

Hi,

Sorry, I was not with Cubase and I was wrong. This is possible already. In this case click on the Volume in the automation track and select Input Filter - PreGain from the list.

Screenshot 2024-06-09 at 17.41.56

No Quick Controls needed.